Great Northwest Music Tour: 2016

A musical caravan, rolling
through our historic properties.

Check out our  PHOTO GALLERYof past tours

AUGUST
Jesse Dayton has been building a cult following around the globe with his guitar shredding, country-infused, Americana sound. Hired at a young age to play guitar with country legends Waylon Jennings, Ray Price, Johnny Bush, Willie Nelson & Glen Campbell, he has since gone on to record five solo records, one duet record, one live record, and two soundtrack recordings. A high-demand festival performer, Jesse Dayton's live show is a not-to-miss experience!

Tue 8/16/2016 Edgefield - Little Red Shed
Wed 8/17/2016 Old St. Francis School - Father Luke's Room
Thu 8/18/2016 Kennedy School - Gym
Fri 8/19/2016 Grand Lodge - Pat's Corner
Sun 8/21/2016 Anderson School - The Shack
Tue 8/23/2016 Olympic Club - Theater

SEPTEMBER
Progressive indie-folk singer-songwriter Heather Maloney's studies of classical opera, improvisational jazz vocals, classical Indian vocals - followed by nearly three years on a silent meditation retreat - provided a unique backstory to her journey from small stages of New England to nationwide audiences. Since her 2013 debut release, she has shared stages with renowned musicians like Rodrigo Y Gabriela, Shakey Graves, and Mary Chapin Carpenter, among others.

Wed 9/14/2016 Edgefield - Blackberry Hall
Thu 9/15/2016 Kennedy School - Gym
Fri 9/16/2016 Hotel Oregon - Mattie's Room
Sat 9/17/2016 Old St. Francis School - O'Kane's Square
Tue 9/20/2016  Olympic Club - Theater
Wed 9/21/2016 Anderson School -  The Shack

OCTOBER
Very few musicians of any stripe so personify a musical genre as completely as Tony Furtado embodies Americana roots music. Tony is an evocative and soulful singer, a wide-ranging songwriter and a virtuoso multi-instrumentalist adept on banjo, cello-banjo, slide guitar and baritone ukulele who mixes and matches sounds and styles with the flair of a master chef. All of the music of America is in Tony's music. Relix hit the nail on the head when writing of Tony: "True talent doesn't need categories." 

"Tony Furtado is a major musical force without a doubt. He has his black-belt in voice and bottleneck guitar and his banjo playing scares the crap out of me." ~ David Lindley 

Wed 10/12/2016 Old St. Francis School - Father Luke's Room
Thu 10/13/2016 Kennedy School - Gym
Fri 10/14/2016 Edgefield - Blackberry Hall
Sat 10/15/2016 Hotel Oregon - Mattie's Room
Tue 10/18/2016 Olympic Club - Theater
Wed 10/19/2016 Anderson School - Haynes' Hall

NOVEMBER
Perennial McMenamins favorites, the Freak Mountain Ramblers grace the Great NW Music Tour regularly, and so this time we'll share a quote from the Portland Mercury that sheds much light on the unique qualities of the Freaks:

"... Freak Mountain Ramblers aren't your typical country western band. Not only have they chucked the slick yippie-ki-yay good looks of contemporary C&W singers for the haggard couture of mountain men, their lyrics have bizarrely warped the genre's storytelling. One song starts as a fable about two fighting neighbors and picks up speed until they have doused each other with gasoline. Strangely addictive and disturbingly fun, the song is sung in sweet tones and set to a galloping swing." 

Thu 11/10/2016 Edgefield - Blackberry Hall 
Fri & Sat 11/11 & 12/2016 Old St. Francis School - Father Luke's Room
Tue 11/15/2016 Olympic Club - Theater
Wed 11/16/2016 Anderson School - Haynes' Hall
Thu 11/17/2016 Kennedy School - Gym
Sat 11/19/2016 Hotel Oregon - Mattie's Room


Related blog posts

Great NW Music Tour: Avett Fave Paleface

David Mayfield: We Dare You Not to Dance

Sallie Ford = Best New Band!

Related content (tags):

Great Northwest Music Tour Property > Great Northwest Music Tour